Sunday

Leave a comment

April 5, 2015 by musehick

It is Easter … a holiday I have kind of lost contact with. It used to be one of the ones that I used to end up going to church for with the grandparents, and for a second there while I had step kids it was something I had to be interested in, but otherwise? Not really.

The spirit of Christmas engaged me even when I considered myself much more secular, but Easter never really engaged me in that sense; it was always more of a gimmicky holiday. I know it occupies a big place on the Christian calendar, and it always makes me smile when you look at how much pagan imagery attends it.

I remember at home, with my dad, watching the story of Jesus in various iterations, and that was always pretty compelling. But as a kid it was, I hate to say it, all about the chocolate eggs, and as the eggs got bigger, it was all about the toys inside the eggs.

Today? I am in church, but the Easter holiday isn’t front and centre of my thinking, because it seems such a weird confused mess of a thing, and it isn’t why I come to church, and doesn’t have much to do with what I do there. Not to beat up on it or anything … I am sure it is some people’s favourite.

Anyway, I am stealing time to write, which is one of my favourite things to do.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

