Wednesday

Leave a comment

August 28, 2014 by musehick

Self deprecation seems to be something that the talented have in abundance. As a defence mechanism the mediocre have an arrogance that carries them through. And people who write blogs can hide behind mass generalisations when they want to avoid talking about people specifically … that is how it works, and you cannot argue. And even if you do find a way to argue, won’t sitting in front of a screen and ranting make you feel a tad silly? No? Ah, you must be a little trollish.

I hate comment threads generally, but I have found some sites that have nailed the monitoring and policing, so the etiquette maintains a nice level.

What am I trying to say here? Am I just treading water? Did I have a point? That I equate insecurity with integrity? That being sure of yourself means you have to be dishonest? That sounds like an argument I could have about indie versus superhero comics. I look at the books in the library in the adult graphic novel section and I sometimes find fault in the superhero comics because the characters really do never grow old – they are all somewhere in adulthood, but they aren’t going to die. Indie comics don’t offer that comfort food perspective.

I want to write both kinds of comics because on some days I am a populist whore and on others the punk in me rears up like an angry godzilla in human form (perhaps that makes me hulk) and I want to tear it all down and be real. Glorify or reportage? Glorification of the super-soldier becomes a little harder to stomach in days where killing by people who tink the solution is to hit things or shoot them doesn’t seem quite so attractive.

I write from a pushed perspective and a pulled perspective – something in me reaching for art, some thing out there saying recognise the world and use your art as a tool, or sometimes a weapon. In the beginning was the word, and that word was a powerful thing … still is.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

