Monday

Leave a comment

August 26, 2014 by musehick

I am like a crack addict in a library. I buy books every week – I kid you not, at least a few a week. I am behind on my reading but that doesn’t stop me. Then I decide for the first time since I moved to America to go and get a library card, and what do you know? There are never enough books to be stacked around the room. Nah, i am being hard on myself – i read a lot, even if it is research in the form of online articles. It is so different to how it was back in the nineties, or when I was at university … back in the day research represented some kind of mammoth task that often involved a holy grail type quest to find the books that you needed.

I am never an advocate for the idea that you need a little suffering to make it all worthwhile, but there is something to the idea that a lack of immediacy does breed patience and doesn’t spoil you into becoming a demand feed baby. And the thought occurs to e that, God, I must be getting old because I am starting to think in terms of: back in the day. I realised some of my favourite teenage albums are now classics; I am pulling white hairs out of my nostrils … the illusion is shattered.

The cool thing for anyone reading me is that the aging process and all the insecurities it throws up makes for great fuel for writing. I am sitting here reading Wilson by Daniel Clowes, which given the character seems apt. I am listening to Dark Star, a group I haven’t listened to much since the nineties. The borken mirrors of my writing will surely reflect this. and all this at a point when I have started reading The Invisibles again, and am closer in age to King Mob than Dane … the sigil shifts, and the world is too. The things are still pertinent, but in different ways. the police state is closer, but I am more spiritual and enlightened as a person. I am invisible in some senses, but am also even more firmly embedded in the grid. And so we begin again. Beetle synchronicities.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

