Tuesday

Leave a comment

August 13, 2014 by musehick

When I wrote about something and I consider that writing to be a commentary I try to leave it along; I don’t want to dig back into it. Part of it is from fear of repeating myself; part of it is I don’t want to become exasperated.

In the past I have made the mistake of reading comment threads that trail away into insanity and more often than not miss the point of the original post that they are supposed to be in reference to. They do little to enlighten, and quite often do a lot to create a picture of mankind as doomed monkeys flinging shit at each other.

Some stories are like lemons squeezed until there is hardly anything to get out of them. Don’t people know when it is time to leave something alone? It’s scabbed over and healing, or you can stop kicking the corpse now, or our crying hysterically is making me uncomfortable now. Don’t these thoughts occur to people? Certain subjects I have written about, and written about, and written about some more – I sometimes wake up from the zombie stupor of telling the same goddamned story yet again and I wonder when was the last time I spoke to a human being. It can be bad.

Instant access to an audience of thousands via social media can make these things drag on forever. No one exercises their self edit mechanisms – perhaps all the attention burns them out. I want my writing to be constructive, and at least not parrot-like. I hope I get there most days.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

