Thursday

Leave a comment

July 11, 2014 by musehick

A regime again – writing. It’s been sparse everywhere, and it has been getting frustrating. If I am not turning a large portion of that mental energy out of my head it sours, and I start to want to punch people, especially anyone that makes themselves a roadblock to my creativity. I felt like I was on a roll before the hospital, and I hit a brief spurt while I was in there too. It’s easy to write without distractions. It used to be easy to write regardless, but drain a huge amount of energy and try and keep up that level of output while troubled with constant interruptions – well, it can impact the work. I don’t want to write negative bullshit all the time; I don’t want to be driven to write it but unexpressed resentment. That kind of leads to a very uninteresting cul-de-sac. Who wants to write facebook status update type poetry that is purely airing dirty linen? Not me, for one. I want to aim a little higher and hit concepts that are a little bigger.

Minnow fishing is all well and good, but big whale hunting is where someone with ambition wants to tout their metaphorical harpoon. Always try and punch above your weight – never go for the next class down, because you will shrink your reach and eventually cripple your world.

Big imagination beckons. New characters – new story arcs. If you are not always developing then you are a stale sandwich. Sorry, Warren Zevon, but I can’t dig that particular kind of sandwich.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

