Sunday

Leave a comment

July 7, 2014 by musehick

I find editing my own work, when I do it, to be supremely easy. Editing someone else requires a whole different set of muscles, and a whole other level of energy. Sure, i know I have talked about my energy quite a lot on here of late, but it is true. Of course, when I edit my own stuff I want to do the best possible job, but that intensifies when working with other people’s writing. I hold myself to high standards and won’t touch something if I don’t feel up to par. This can be problematic when you agree to do something for others who you respect, and when you fall behind and then flop at it. Thank god though for those who step in and take over and seem to flourish doing that work … it impresses me.

Yes, that paragraph is a little hobbled by vagueness, but sometimes circuitous bullshit is my stock in trade. Anyway, I have been writing copy today for someone’s project, and it is great training for when I shift gears into poetry and fiction. The different disciplines kind of remind of a martial arts guy I saw who practiced soft chi in the morning by walking on eggs, and this charged up for an afternoon of hard chi later – smashing concrete blocks. I intend to smash concrete blocks.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

fishing real

hook lion and synch her

new morning greeted

living with a woken heart

turvy autopsy

turning the body over

