Friday

Leave a comment

June 21, 2014 by musehick

So a prose week followed by a primarily poetry week – that’s how it rolls sometimes; and that’s fine with me. It means I am working different muscles, and touching people in different ways. I have always found I can kind of dig into philosophical ideas and then those ideas, worked out in a structured lyrical way, and it becomes fuel for the longer works.

I try not to repeat myself, and I don’t think I do very often, and the weird distorting pressures of fiction and the stressors of character and an extended narrative warp those ideas into something with a unique flavour.

My poetry is coming alive with ideas again – it is not the claustrophobic experience it was becoming as I slid down a slippery pole of bad health. I value that work because it holds up a mirror to where I was, but I won’t lie – being in a better place physically and having that feed into my work is something I see as a cause of celebration. Being on the upward curve is wonderful after plunging through the floor of the barrel.

A break from “A Reality Engineer” means it is going to fly out the gate when I plug back into it. Doing what I love is more important to me now than it has ever been.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

fishing real

hook lion and synch her

new morning greeted

living with a woken heart

turvy autopsy

turning the body over

