Thursday

Leave a comment

March 28, 2014 by musehick

Music’s importance to me cannot be understated. Before I found poetry to speak for myself I sang the poetry of others. There was a magic in Bowie, in Bolan, in Deep Purple, in Karen Carpenter, in Michael Jackson – I had to hunt out those songs on the radio and I would tape them, and it wasn’t the easiest thing getting all the lyrics sometimes. Sometimes misheard lyrics lead you in an interesting direction – it’s true, they aren’t all bad. It’s not that dissimilar to learning how to tell stories by learning how to tell jokes, or hearing myths warped in the sunlight of an oral tradition and adding your own tarnish to the tale.

I have written before of how I do not really like didactic modes of information conveyance, but how coming in from the different angle an interview provides does something magical to the way the person talks about their experience and lets a shaft of light in on their creative process – Spectacle … with Elvis Costello does this with musicians in the same way that the Actor’s Studio does it with actors; it is an invaluable resource for a writer.

The fires of my inspiration are always burning to some degree and the things I have cooking boil over when these great shows pour gasoline on the coals. I love creativity – when I am happy, when I am at my most blue – wherever I am, being able to sit down and write something is in such a sweet harmonic resonance with my soul that ir repairs a lot of the damage the rigours of the day can dent me with. It is a gift.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

