Wednesday

Leave a comment

February 20, 2014 by musehick

I have been very productive of late. It’s all resultant from a pretty simple way of working. I am working on a lot of different projects at once and I have them open in a whole bunch of tabs and then each day I sit down and cycle through the tabs, writing a piece for each tab, getting as far as I can each day. If I don’t get through all the tabs then I go back to the beginning and start again. It’s kind of like making a game out of the whole process and that is how it should be: fun.

It means obviously that those projects loaded into the front set of tabs generally get finished quicker, but I don’t have a problem with that. It is kind of like a hot-housing production line way of working, but it is cool because instead of writing a whole bunch sequentially for one project I get to test out different muscle groups, and the close juxtaposition and stresses this forces into the writing makes them more interesting than I feel they might be if they were written differently I always like to challenge myself and this feels like a really natural way to do it.

I finished one of the books I am thinking of as Dirty Thirties, the bulk of those I am writing currently edging into the next imprint, which I have mentioned before as being Idiot 45s. After that it will be the Half Century books which have 50 poems per book. These restrictions and games I play with myself while writing are, I think, key to my productivity. I want to keep this record of those creative processes active again – look how long this blog has been going, and despite having the name daily I ironically have not hit 365 posts. Still, there is a pretty good record of where my head has been at throughout various arcs of creativity, and that to me is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

