Wednesday

Leave a comment

December 26, 2013 by musehick

Today was a pretty cool day for me. To say that I have been a little introverted and a little isolated over the past 4 months would be to avoid the issue somewhat. Christmas can be one of those times when a person’s relationship status presses in on them and the temptation to just give in to that low level depressing misery that can seep in can be overwhelming. So, I decided I wasn’t going to agree with that crap anymore, and when my friend invited me out I decided to accept and get outside my crippling comfort zone.

I haven’t read my own poetry out loud to an audience for a long time, and the last time I had the opportunity, even amongst friends, I chickened out. I had convinced myself that no one heard the words and all they listened to was the accent, and I developed a major problem with it. It’s hard when the meaning is the paramount thing for you and all anyone hears is the sound, but again, by building this into my every consideration I crippled myself. So, given the chance to read some of my work, despite initial reluctance, I accepted and read something.

The welcoming environment, and the ease with which others shared their work, it felt like it would have been churlish to refuse. After being a little shaky on the first one, at least in my opinion, it got easy quick, and enjoyable too. having people respond to the work in a positive way, and a way which you can see is genuine, is very rewarding … and I had forgotten what that feels like; forgotten how the rhythm of reading embellishes the words and brings out the music of them. Sure, there are elements that are best appreciated when read on the page, but the aspect that is pure communication benefits inestimably from being read. I like that I can see this even from a brief experience. The opportunities for more of it are there too … it’s very cool.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

