Wednesday

Leave a comment

December 19, 2013 by musehick

I have tried to move away from poetry as catharsis – meaning stuff that was purely me airing my dirty laundry in public. I wanted to write poetry that was concerned with ideas. It has proved difficult though, and I know some good work has been done whilst under the yoke of personal misery. I had forgotten though how much of a useful tool it once was for digging me out of the doldrums.

The urge, I suppose, was not to be self-indulgent – but it was predicated on a misunderstanding … the idea that writing personally affected and effecting poetry was necessarily a recipe for self-indulgence, when so-called poetry of ideas can just as quickly descend into a flagrant display of literary onanism. It is all in the execution.

I have written some sad poetry this week, but I fell better for having written it, and it has added an entirely different flavour to the collection I have been working on. I suppose it is more a flavour of myself, and that is always a good thing, no? To be able to say the writer is engaged in his work. I am always engaged, but am I always evident? I would argue not. I want to be in some ways, but never at the expense of the work – and this involves striking a somewhat delicate balance, on I hopefully become increasingly better at doing.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

