Saturday

Leave a comment

February 10, 2013 by musehick

I had a new idea come to me for a fiction site which I am currently writing. As of now I can’t exactly remember when it came to me, because it was one of those ideas that arrived and I was in the wrong place to do anything about it, and then it thankfully popped into my memory again, probably in a somewhat mutated form, and I breathed life into it.

It looks like it will be some kind of genre mash-up and as yet, being less than two hundred words in I don’t have the faintest what that will be. I am not a massive plotter when these things first start out, but once I am a few chapters in the beat starts to work itself out, and the direction reveals itself to me.

This is sometimes why a story will stall out for me. I get another idea and I have to refind the rhythm of the thing I was writing previously. There are certain harmonics, melodies, and leitmotifs that lay themselves into a work, and if you come in with a lead-ear you can wreck the original impetus. I play it like a jazz musician sometimes, sneaking into the heart of an established narrative pattern and rewiring it, riffing on the original theme.

I don’t think this means I am going to move back over to prose and leave poetry behind, I want instead from now on to run them like twin engines.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

