Monday

Leave a comment

January 28, 2013 by musehick

I pushed today to get through another chapter of Whet Reign, I finished off The Barbarous Babblings Of A Polymath, I opened the folder for Weapon Eyes, Sir, and I am going to really dig in this week and get these books edited and out there. I keep shifting around in my viewpoint of the wisdom of having so many sites, but that seems a little like cutting open the golden goose to find out where the eggs are coming from. The aim is not to cut down the number of sites for the sake of cutting down the number of sites, but to complete projects and begin new projects.

The main problem with having something started and sat there forever is what I am going to call ideational drift – where the initial impetus and drive which pushed those stories forward, over the time you have spent away from the project, has somehow shifted because you come back to it and forget the original intention somewhat. Of course, this may be exactly what the project needed if you had reached some kind of impasse, but otherwise there is the danger that the second part of a project may seem to have a distinctly different flavour to the previous part. I work hard so this doesn’t happen, but it is something that concerns me sometimes.

I suppose some of this problem may derive from not knocking out and nailing down a strong enough template for the unfolding story in the first place. Because that opening chapter is usually where the starting points for all the subsequent threads is nestled and zipped down, waiting for the expanding narrative to decompress the hinted at files: kind of like concentrated foreshadowing.

A novel, a novel, a novel – this is the year of the motherfucking novel – if I do no have at least one finished longform work by the end of this year I will scream loud enough to burst my lungs and launch my tongue at the far wall.

I am full of energy and eager to make my mark a little more indelible and visible this year.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

