Monday

Leave a comment

January 22, 2013 by musehick

I have been listening to a lot of music today and I have been reading a lot of internet articles about the state of the country I come from, and I have also been reading a fair bit of Warren Ellis in Come In Alone.

In all of it, I have to say, there has been a little sprinkling of doom, but I see in the reactions to it a big push of hope against the status quo. With Mandatory Work Programs that amount to slave labour, libraries being closed left right and centre, and University fees becoming exorbitant, one might despair at the whole thing and see society going into a nosedive which it can’t pull out of. But I know some creative people who live in these places and I know that they are producing things of value and they sound like they are managing to live through this shit, and they write about things which seem a little less bleak.

I have read things about the States which might make one think that Skynet launched and Terminators are walking through the street, but I know from experience that this is not happening; I hang out with some pretty turned on and tuned in people and I can confirm that they are flourishing and prospering despite the apparent down-trending statistics we keep reading about in the media.

You can educate yourself; you can create for yourself; there are things you can do. Sure, there are people mounting systematic attacks on you from all sides, so get angry and tell them to go fuck themselves and do something. I don’t say this from some insulated position. I have been in the trenches and I am still struggling occasionally, but I know I am going to win out.

I write, I create, I dream – that is my way of waging war on the small imaginations of fascists who would steal the freedom of humanity. Art is where it’s at.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

