Friday

Leave a comment

December 15, 2012 by musehick

It is an interesting day to be a writer, a day where you want to be able to say something profound that sheds a light on the situation of a man who walks into a school and executes children. I had a couple of ideas – I wanted to write a poem about it; I wanted to write a satire on gun laws; I wanted to write a non-fiction piece on the situation, but I don’t really have the words for it. I may write one or all of these things, but I want it to be a considered response and not some knee-jerk reaction that has me stomping all over the hot button issues of the day.

I am not for gun ownership but perhaps I don’t understand the intricate checks and balances that make it such a contentious issue; I come from a country with no guns and very little gun crime, but perhaps it is true that the prevalence of guns has nothing to do with guns being readily available. I think there is a problem with all these people on psychiatric drugs walking into schools and killing people; there is a problem with so many people on psychiatric drugs.

Kids should not have to die. This kind of thing should not be a possibility. That it is possible means that something needs to change.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

