Sunday

Leave a comment

August 13, 2012 by musehick

Today was a brain-storming day – taking all the shit that I imbibe and mashing it up and shitting it out like some dancing mutant abortion. Anyone who thinks the creativity that they display is totally their own and not some frankensteinian mish-mash is kidding themselves. If they think this is in and of itself a bad thing then they really have some kind of misunderstanding of how we consume and use information.

I have tonight – finished watching the last two episodes of Breaking Bad, a Rolling Stones documentary, and an Ayn Rand documentary, whilst reading Shivering Sands by Warren Ellis. I eat a lot – I shit a lot.

I am thinking in terms of where I want my work to be, where I want it to go, and what I want it to do. There are things at the moment which represent where my thinking was, and which need to be wrapped up because they are like the starlight from the start of the universe, and I am not a much older entity now than I was. I am in a different place and if you look at those things expecting to find out where I am you are more than a few steps behind. Not that this invalidates those works, but old work is always, of necessity, going to be crystallised history, and new work is going to be of the moment and the step beyond the cutting edge.

I don’t necessarily ever want to be considered an important thinker or an important writer, but the effort to say something of value may one day cast me in that light in someone’s eyes. Who knows? I am not interested in writing about my ambitions in a way that builds Ozymandias-like testaments to my ego and my failure.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

fishing real

hook lion and synch her

new morning greeted

living with a woken heart

turvy autopsy

turning the body over

