Thursday

Leave a comment

July 13, 2012 by musehick

As well as going through old stories and dusting them off and getting them hurtling towards their end; as well as editing the books which are finished and waiting to be fully delivered into the world; I am also going through and activating all the random titles which I vouchsafed for future use and never used: stephen hawking is terminal is one, and baby without a brain is another. They are titles which I picked because they have a combination of shock value, elasticity and total randomity.

I like rotating through several worlds in a day as I write – it makes me feel like an explorer, and I know that I am venturing into unique headspaces each time I pick a new site to write for. A lot of what I am turning out at the moment has a sci-fi bent but I feel like each thing has its own flavour, and the flavours are getting more mixed up and wild as I go along. But you know the cool thing about all of them? The cement that holds every single world that I write about together, at least in my own eyes? It is my love of story telling. Telling a tale has to be the base of all of this, no matter all the fancy curlicues and the fireworks, if I am not taking someone from point a to point b in an entertaining fashion and maybe throwing some light on some things they hadn’t thought about, then I haven’t done my job.

Writers who disappear up their own arseholes are no use to anyone. That is the cardinal rule you should always live by – if it feels like you are skirting around your own rectum like an intellectual enema then pull your head out of your bunghole and go back to the drawing board.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

