Tuesday

Leave a comment

July 11, 2012 by musehick

I am in the process of organising things and I am cataloguing all the sites that I have out there and it is one hell of a lot of things I have written which are moving towards being books. It is nice to see them growing and developing, especially if it is in surprising ways that I didn’t initially envisage.

I also eventually want to write some music review books and film books. Hence my music sight. I have absolutely loved reading Lester Bangs and the way that he captures the music he loves and makes something just as wonderful in his review of the work … someone who writes with real passion about something he admires. If Hunter Thompson had written about music I think he might have sounded like Bangs.

Like all of my literary heroes, or heroes of other bents, I never want to be them – I just want to write with that passion and intensity and with that magical ability to capture the spirit of what I am writing about. If you can gift someone else with a piece of music or a film that is going to change their life, or a piece of your own work – then how great is that?

I am watching ‘Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind’ at the moment and I am thinking about how important memory is to us; the links we forge music, film, books, and the shared culture which makes up the backdrop to our lives are fundamental in that construction. I am intent on building great memories for myself, but man, if I could forge a place where others can come and spend some time and build new memories, that would be the most amazing thing. I know I would haave done something worthwhile with my writing.

Leave a Reply

Nanowrimo 2013

agrypnotic

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,052 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,181 hits
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

Goodreads

whetwork

triggerpull

oppenheim memorial park

away from old eyes

the black vault network

follow the money

hallux and hind collar

flight from the nest

distraction display

sleight of hand

